• Events
  • Events

Foundation Events

JRF Scholars Receive Prestigious Awards at 2014 Mentoring and Leadership Conference

JRF Scholars Receive Prestigious Awards  at 2014 Mentoring and Leadership Conference

(pictured above from l-r:) JRF Board Co-chair Gregg Gonsalves, JRF President and CEO Della Britton Baeza, Unilever Award recipient Morgan Spears, Electronic Arts Award recipient Daril Brown, Spike Lee Youth Motivation Award recipient Ajwang Rading, Nike Prize recipient Nkemdilim Nwaokolo, Ralph E. Ward Achievement recipient Jonae Felton and author and journalist Alison Stewart

Five outstanding Jackie Robinson Scholars received sponsor-led awards at the Mentoring and Leadership Conference held in New York City February 27-March 4th. The Scholars received the awards during the Recognition Lunch hosted by author and journalist Alison Stewart.

Howard University senior Daril Brown was the recipient of the 2014 Electronic Arts (EA) Excellence in Engineering Award. Andre Chambers, Director, Global Talent Acquisition and Inclusion for EA, made the presentation to the engineering major who was recognized for his research on renewable construction sources.

UCLA senior Ajwang Rading received the Spike Lee Youth Motivation Award. JRF Alumnus and Chair of the Western Regional Scholar Advisory Committee, Daron Campbell was on hand to present the award to the political science major who started a not-for-profit organization to help students finance an abroad service project.

University of Chicago sophomore Nkemdilim Nwaokolo received the 2014 Nike Prize presented by Darius Ryals, Nike’s Vice President of Technology Infrastructure Services. Nkemdilim was cited for her excellence on the track field, in the classroom and in her community.

DePaul University junior Morgan Spears received the Unilever Legacy of Leadership Award. Morgan received the honor from Unilever’s Leadership Development Director and Chief Diversity Officer Evelyn Espinal who recognized Morgan’s various roles in a community peace-keeping initiative.

2013 Tuskegee University graduate Jonae Felton received the Ralph E. Ward Achievement Award. JRF Board co-chair Gregg Gonsalves, the first recipient of the Award, made the presentation to Jonae who received the award for attaining the highest grade point average (4.0) in her JRF Scholars’ class.

“With our partners and supporters, we are delighted to recognize the extraordinary achievements of these young leaders,” said JRF President and CEO Della Britton Baeza. "Their combined efforts on their campuses and in their communities are true embodiments of the legacy of our namesake, Jackie Robinson. We are incredibly proud of all that they have accomplished.”

Click here to learn more about the awardees