The Jackie Robinson Foundation Announces First Round of New JRF Scholars

The Class of 2016 Represents 23 States and 42 Colleges and Universities

July 10, 2012- In its first round of awardees for the 2012-2013 academic year, The Jackie Robinson Foundation (JRF) has selected 56 new Scholars in its Class of 2016. The Foundation provides $7,500 annually over four years to college students who demonstrate both leadership potential and financial need. This new class will join 109 JRF undergraduate Scholars and 13 graduate Fellows, currently supported by the Foundation beginning in the 2012-13 academic year.

So far, this year’s new class of freshmen “Scholars” represents 23 states, attends 42 colleges and universities with 19 different majors chosen so far, and made up of 53% females and 47% males. All Scholars chosen are academically accomplished and have demonstrated leadership and a propensity for community involvement. Over half of those selected are members of the National Honor Society and six were valedictorians of their high school class. Thirty percent of the incoming class will be the first in their family to attend college.

Since 1973, over 1,400 men and women of color have been named Jackie Robinson Scholars. They have become leaders in their professional fields and consummate ambassadors of Jackie Robinson’s legacy of community service.

“We are delighted to welcome this new class of Scholars to the Foundation,” said JRF President and CEO Della Britton Baeza. “They join a 40-year history of excellence and will benefit greatly from our comprehensive mentoring and leadership program. As we guide them through their college years, I am confident that they will excel professionally and continue in the Foundation’s tradition of public service and civic engagement.”

Additional scholarship awardees will be announced in early August.

List of JRF Scholars:

Nathaniel Abraham, III – Columbia, SC, W. J. Keenan High School
Rashaun Bennett, – Charlotte, NC, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
Breshawn Best – Tallahassee, FL, Lincoln High School
Armani Black – Saint Paul, MN, John A. Johnson High School
Aja Blair – Atlanta, GA, Henry W. Grady High School
Iris Brewer – West Chester, OH, Ursuline Academy
Michael Brooks – Fresno, CA, Clovis East High School
Kyra Brown – St. Paul, MN, Highland Park Senior High School
Kacie Cardenas – Katy, TX, Morton Ranch High School
Omar Corona Monroy – Sacramento, CA, Sacramento Charter High School
Markieria Davis – Chicago, IL, Kenwood Academy
Calvin Dorsey – Denver, CO, Kent Denver School
Trina Durham – Kansas City, KS Wyandotte High School
Cinneah El-Amin – Baltimore, MD Friends School of Baltimore
Antonio Garcia – Federal Way, WA, Decatur High School
Sennay Ghenbot – Germantown, MD, Northwest High School
Ahmad Greene-Hayes – Irvington, MA, Winchester High School
Alanah Grisham – San Diego, CA, Mt. Carmel High School
Shaquilla Harrigan – Winder, GA, Winder-Barrow High School
Terrell Hemphill – Detroit, MI, Renaissance High School
Verlin Herbert, Jr. – Tyler, TX, Robert E. Lee High School
Matthew James – Pembroke Pines, FL, Pembroke Pines Charter High School
Kendale Johnson – Chicago, IL, Kenwood Academy
Aaron Jordan – Palm Bay, FL, Palm Bay High School
Jillian Kimbrel-Baker – Boston, MA, Boston Latin School
Kendrick Lang – Gaithersburg, MD, Quince Orchard High School
Jonece Layne – Beltsville, MD, National Cathedral School
Hannah Lewis – Fort Myers, FL, Fort Myers High School
Langston McElroy – Los Angeles, CA, Harvard-Westlake School
JeRonelle McGhee – Omaha, NE, Omaha Central High School
Bria McLinn – Chatsworth, CA, Hillcrest Christian School
Sierra Menzies – Dacula, Georgia Mill Creek High School
Joshua Millings – Central Islip, NY, Immanuel Christian Homeschool Academy
Zainab Mohammodu – Arlington, TX, Juan Seguin High School
Khalif Moore-Stevenson – Oakland, CA, St. Paul’s School Concord, New Hampshire
Kyle Nichols – Chicago, IL Kenwood Academy
Matthew Nopah – Gallup, NM, Miyamura High School
Angel Nwachukwu – Houston, TX, Travis High School
Nkemdilim Nwaokolo – Brooklyn Park, MN, Champlin Park High School
Zenzele Olatunji – Elk Grove, CA, South Sutter Charter
Ian Parker – Paradise Valley, AZ, Brophy College Preparatory
Andre Rowe, Jr. – Rich Square, NC, Northampton County High School- East
Karissa Royster – San Antonio, TX, James Madison High School
Armando Saafir – Wauwatosa, WI, Pius XI High School
Cristal Salas – Inglewood, CA, Inglewood High School
Laura Salinas – McAllen, TX, IDEA Quest College Preparatory
Jocelyn Sheffield – Chesterfield, MO, Westminster Christian Academy
Jordan Shivers – Florissant, MO, Mary Institute and Saint Louis Country Day School
Rohan Tanna – Frisco, TX, Hebron High School
Cai Thomas – Miami, FL, Ransom Everglades School
Azurai Thompson – Philadelphia, PA, Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
Jordyn Turner – Plymouth Meeting, PA, The Shipley School
Matana Williams – Lilburn, GA, Parkview High School
Jazmin Wilson – Tecumseh, OK, Tecumseh High School
Olivia Woodward – North Richland Hills, TX, Richland Senior High School
Daniel Wright – Augusta, GA, Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School

About The Jackie Robinson Foundation:

Established in 1973, the Jackie Robinson Foundation (JRF) is the nation’s premier education and leadership development program benefiting minority students. In addition to generous financial assistance, the Foundation provides four years of highly engaged, hands-on mentoring through a comprehensive set of support services including curriculum and career guidance, internship and permanent job placement, and practical life skills, resulting in a consistent nearly 100% graduation rate, more than twice the national average for minority students. The over 1,400 JRF alumni are both leaders in their professional fields and consummate ambassadors of Jackie Robinson’s legacy of community service. In the academic year 2011-12, JRF provided more than $3 million in scholarship assistance and program support to 208 students across the country.